Snow Through The Post/New Poem (Rough First Draft)

 

Snow Through The Post

 

I want to send you snow. I want to select the most beautiful

 

crystals, put them loose in a tongue sealed envelope.

 

I wonder how your heart would react.

 

 

 

I fell this morning, on a road  smooth as cream.

 

I lay for a while, relearning how to breathe, and as I did,

 

I thought of you, and when you let  my fingers feel through

 

thin, cool, hospital sheets, to your heart’s irregular beat.

 

 

 

I stopped the tears while they were still just a sheen on my lenses.

 

Before I left you’d said to me ‘don’t cry outside.’

 

 

 

As the winds waltz with the snowflakes I wanted to send you,

 

I remove my top. I twist my head, watch tiny bruises emerge

 

across my backbone like rapidly running ink spills,

 

and I wonder how your heart is.

 

