I value CD art work. Quite a bit.

I currently write for a metal web-zine called Destructive Music, and about a month ago now, I wrote a review for an album called Fire Meets Ice by a Swedish Epic Metal band called Erab Altor. The record label had a read of the review, and liked it so much that they got in touch with my editor and asked for my address – they wanted to send me a free copy of the CD when it was officially released. Chuffed doesn’t even begin to cover it.

 

So, the album came the other day and, to my joy, the artwork on the back of the CD case was just as good as the work on the front, the artwork that I’d praised so highly in my review. I opened the box up to find even more stunning visuals, and, I don’t care if this sounds gay, but my heart gave a little flutter. If you’ve been following my blog for a wee while you’ll know just how enamoured I am with the North, and all things associated with it, and so will be able to understand my majorly enthusiastic reaction.

 

Owning CD’s (and yes, I do buy them still) is a major part of my life. It keeps me grounded, it ensures that I can fully appreciate everything about a release, from peeling off the plastic, to gently tugging out the CD, to carefully pulling back the pages of the lyrics booklet for that very first time and getting that smell. I was collecting music when there was no internet. When I had to go into a shop, order a CD and wait a month or so for it to be shipped from the US or wherever, a time when every CD (or tape) was treated with the utmost respect. I’m proud to be able to say that I still do treat all of my music with respect, and I find it really quite sad that music is turning into this temporary commodity. Something people can have in their ears in seconds then forget all about minutes later.

 

for phil

for phil 2

for phil 3

for phil 4

for Phil 5

