Proofreading

Proofreading. You love it or you hate it. Either way, it is something that has to be done. I’ve made mistakes in the past. Big mistakes. I’ll give you an example. When I first created my literary magazine Beautiful Scruffiness, I did the whole thing myself, which included proofreading. I won’t be making that mistake again, guaranteed. 100 gorgeous copies of my precious magazine came back peppered with errors.

Now I always ensure that I have at least 3-4 people looking at every publication I’m bringing into the world. At the moment, I have two publications which will need careful proofreading before they are released into the public domain. Is proofreading something you are into? Do you enjoy reading? Or do you just have an eye for detail and can spot a mistake from a mile off? If any of things ring some bells then keep reading. If not, well, keep reading anyway because you might discover something interesting.

The publications that need proofreading:

Big Eyes Magazine Issue 1: A unique magazine, created for creative and curious people. Jam packed with all sorts of interesting titbits, we’ll explore different topics in every issue, from creativity, travel and mental health, to careers, body modification and fashion.

 

Lost In Iceland: A novel for young adults, but that I hope will transcend age.

Nora is a charismatic, unemployed, sixteen year old writer. A County Durham girl, born and bred. When her father, Jed is offered a once in a life time job by The Environment Agency Of Iceland, Nora is expected to relocate, along with her inattentive mother Liz. Besotted with sixteen year old Leo, and convinced her only inspiration to write lies is the North East, Nora is adamant to stay put. Naturally, her parents have the upper hand, and an agitated Nora is shipped off to start a new life in Reykjavik, where most of the population believe they have seen elves, and the favoured snack is dried flounder.

If you are interested in one or both of these projects, please get in touch, either here or at my email address katiemariemetcalfe@hotmail.co.uk. I am unable to provide payment, but you would have your name included in the publications.

For more information about Big Eyes Magazine follow this link:

http://bigeyesmagazine.wordpress.com/

Thank you for reading!

