Wyrd Words & Effigies

Wyrd Words & Effigies  was an alternative photography and writing team that I set up with an ex-boyfriend back in 2008. We were rather productive in the short time that we had it up and running, and had articles, interview and photography published in various alternative magazines.

In 2013 I would like to bring Wyrd Words & Effigies back, but instead of it being a two person team, I want it to rise up as a frequent publication. You know that magazine that makes you feel almost weightless when you first find it? That magazine you can’t fucking wait to open and feast on? That’s what I’m hoping to create.

One of my favourite aspects of the publications that I read, include the enormous Black Metal review sections. I get such a rush transcribing band names to my notebook, then checking them out, and finding something really fucking special, something that takes me and fucking hauls me beyond anything I’ve experienced before. Reviews are something I intend to focus very heavily on, the same applies with interviews. They will be dense and absorbing. I also plan to review relevant books, zines and films, and accept submissions on the topics of paganism, ecology, the natural world, relevant art, world folklore and superstition. There will potentially be space for travel writing and creative writing too. I’m really eager to work with photographers and graphic designers too, and bring their work to the sorts of people they want to reach.

With this publication, I desire to go off the path and explore the further, darker parts of the forest, and I want you to follow me.

I want Wyrd Words & Effigies to be something that people want to keep and write about and talk about and return to time and again. Do you think this sounds interesting? Get in touch if you would like to get involved.

