ENJOY Tea

I’ve resolved to make the effort to do something I enjoy every single day for the rest of the year. No matter how small. Today, that special thing was having a cup of tea and taking my time with it. Sure, I made it in the cup, but there’s still a ritual when it’s tea for one. I have specific cups that I like to use. In the morning, it’s my Norway mug. It reminds me of why I do what I do and it’s the absolute perfect size. I used to have one and a half sugars. Now it’s two sweeteners. (I know, I know it’s bad but we all have our weaknesses) I use the water seconds after it’s finished boiling, and I pour it from a height. I like to ensure the bag gets a proper pummelling.  I leave the tea bag to brew for about three and a half minutes, then squeeze the bag with two spoons (I like my tea strong) then I add milk. A fair splash. I have what some people call an asbestos throat. I like my drinks extra hot. If it’s lukewarm it’s fucked and I have to make another one. Whenever I’m out, and ordering a hot drink, I always have to request extra hot. There are few, very few places that will give you an actual hot drink. It’s always lukewarm  chocolate or tepid tea. I actually feel kind of sorry for the buggers who are guilty of this. I mean…do they know nothing? If I was working in some nice little caff, I’d make it my fucking duty to serve every single drink that was supposed to be hot hot. Greggs do proper hot drinks. I should take out the word ‘proper’ really, because the drinks from Greggs are bloody awful…but I keep on going back.

Tea is a crucial element in keeping me from going all psycho on the world. You don’t want to know me if I haven’t had my tea. It’s just not worth it. It’s best to just turn and walk the other way. I’ve been drinking tea for as long as I can remember. It’s a family thing. If someone asks for a coffee I automatically say, ‘are you sure? Is something wrong?’

