Distraction

Today I purchased something that I didn’t expect to acquire until I was at least 40. A good, old fashioned kitchen timer…in the classic shape of an egg. I haven’t made this obscure purchase because I’ve decided to give Delia a run for her money, no. It’s because I have a slight addiction, you see, and this little plastic baby is going to help me combat it. I have a slight thing for images. I can’t get enough. Which basically means that once I am logged into Tumblr or Pinterest I find it hard to duck back out again, and get on with important stuff that really needs doing. I’m always like, ‘oh, just one more image…just one more…this will be my last one. It will. Really. I promise. Oh…go on then, just one more.’ And this internal monologue can go on, and on and on, meaning that, while my boards or archives fill up with splendid pictures of stuff, my ‘important writing’ stagnates. I try and kid myself sometimes that it’s ‘inspiration for my poem/story’ but who am I kidding? Yeah, sure, sometimes something will make a grab for my attention, but most of the time it’s simply because I’m curious…and a bit greedy. So, with my little kitchen timer, I hope to discipline myself. When the noisy alarm rips out my eardrums, it’s time to log out of my image stores, and start writing again…

