Artists I Like – Yoshitomo Nara

Yoshitomo Nara. Can’t remember how I came across him, but his work is…when I went to his exhibition at the Baltic, I think I had the most fun I have ever had at an art gallery. His work just opened me up to all sorts of childlike, silly but wonderful feelings and emotions I hadn’t encountered for years.

I have a postcard book of his work, and I remember giving one of my old housemate a postcard, apologising for my hysteria and depression over the years and wishing her luck for the future. She left the card on her wall when she left. I felt like I’d been kicked in the head and spat on. I took it off her wall, removed the blue tak and still have it. You might think ‘slight overreaction Katie?’ I think not. Little things can mean a lot to me, and each and every one of these Yoshitomo Nara postcards are little pieces of specialness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

