The Sense of an Ending By Julian Barnes

The Sense of an Ending By Julian Barnes published by Jonathan Cape.


I was very, very excited about reading this book. I wanted to read it long before it won the Man Booker Prize 2011, but after the win, I was all the more intrigued and desperate to get my hands on a copy. I finally got my hands on a copy the other day, and was taken aback by the sheer beauty of the front and back cover. I’m also a fan of black ink dipped pages. However, the book itself disappointed me. Yes, I know, I think I’m the only person to actually not adore this 150 page novel. The narrator is middle aged Tony Webster, who swore to stay friend with his snooty mates from school but didn’t, then stuff happens (that really isn’t all that interesting) to characters who didn’t grip me in the slightest and who, to be perfectly honest, I didn’t give a shit about. (I wanted to slap a fair few of them.) Sure, there are some gorgeous images. The best probably when he describes his ex-girlfriend’s mole when he meets her donkeys years after they break up, but there are also some moments, mainly near the beginning, where I was like ‘what the fuck does that word even mean?’ (I didn’t have a dictionary on the train.) It didn’t help that the image of the author on the back sleeve was particularly sinister. I think I must get something out of breaking into a cold sweat, because I kept flicking to peer at it. Anyway, at least I didn’t buy it. I can be happy about that.

