The Bookcase Project

The Bookcase Project


Saturday. 3.September.2011

Choosing which book to read next it always a massive thing for me. I can take hours, even days trying to make up my mind which volume is going to have my attention for the next week or month. The other night it was all too much, when three books were biting at my heels. So, I made the decision to work my way through the bookcases and book shelves in my house. I’m starting with the beautiful oak bookcase in my bedroom, and I’m going through all the books (that I haven’t read) in the order that they’re sat in the shelf, from top to bottom. Simple as that really. I think it will be an excellent way to really range the sorts of material I’m reading, and to also make time for books that have been pushed aside due to more ‘urgent’ things that I’ve had to devour.

 

Book 1: The 1000 Journals Project

By Some Guy, Chronicle Books, San Francisco, 2007.

 

I bought this gorgeous book about eight months ago off Amazon, and it’s the sort of thing that I was so excited about buying, but when it arrived, I thought ‘oh, I really should leave this for a rainy day, or for when I’m ill and can’t get out of bed.’ It wasn’t that I didn’t want to read it, it was just…well, I can’t really explain, but I’m quite sure that if you are an avid reader, you’ll know what I mean.

The premise of this book is based on 1000 journals that were let out into the wide world by ‘Some Guy’ with the instructions to share innermost thoughts and unbridled creativity then pass it on to someone else, so on and so forth. There was no guarantee any of them would come back…fortunately though, a lot did, and this book is made up of a fair amount of the material that was created by people who picked up one of the journals and decided to contribute. The project is an ongoing experiment.

The goal is to provide a method for interaction and shared creativity among friends and strangers.

There is allsorts in this book. It is such a treat to read. I loved the fact that whenever I turned a page, there would be something absolutely new, absolutely unique. The writing and illustrations and photographs and sewing (yes, sewing) made this book an absolute joy to gulp down. There was memories of 9/11, receipts, collages, negatives, the concept of time according to a stranger, self-portraits and parents writing to their children about the legacy they leave to them – unconditional love.

 

 

 

 

It also has an absolutely mint forward. I’ll give you a bite of it.

 

Some folks worry that the digitization of our daily lives will make us disembodied ghosts. They fear that we’ll become fat lumps of tissue plugged into some giant machine, and that our souls and minds will migrate to cyberspace, where our egos will drift as mere whiffs of electrons. We’ll work, play, shop, and live online, and the real world – the physical world – will rot.

 

Buy this book. You’ll love it. Check out the website. You’ll love it to. I’m so thrilled I’ve finally got around to reading ‘The 1000 Journals Project.’ It was an absolute eye opener from the word go.

 

Website: http://www.1000journals.com/index.php?view=About%2FIndex

