Observations

Good evening all. Today was a good day for the Guardian/Observer. Some excellent, well worth reading pieces. I’ve very kindly listed them here for you.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/society/2011/mar/27/blogging-anorexia-saved-my-life – I found this piece greatly inspiring. Good on you lass, that’s what I have to say. When I was trying to get better back in the day, I found the Pro Anorexia websites extremely harmful. It’s without a doubt they cause more than one re-lapse in my case. So for this young woman to find help, guidance and a release from the horrifying pressures of anorexia is wonderful news. It makes me wonder what it would have been like if I would have started a blog back then about my recovery. I would love to know her trick for getting over a thousand visitors a day.

 

http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/gallery/2011/mar/26/earth-hour-climate-change-energy#/?picture=373062854&index=0 – I’d love to know peoples thoughts on this. Personally, I thought it was a great thing to do, but is it really going to get people to change on a longer term? Really?

http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2011/mar/27/neil-ansell-my-life-as-hermit – I’m definitely going to buy this blokes book when it comes out.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2011/mar/27/debate-tiger-tiger-book – I want to get my hands on this too, although I can’t say I am particularly ‘eager’ to read it, I just want to be able to give my own opinion on it and the critics say she’s a good writer.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2011/mar/27/favourite-record-shops – I’m getting into records so this made for very interesting reading.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2011/mar/27/leonora-rustamova-sacked-calder-high – WTF?

I finished a damn fine book the other day. ‘Notes From an Exhibition’ by Patrick Gale is about talented artist Rachel Kelly who is a talented artist, a bad mother and a manic depressive sufferer. But when she is found dead in her studio, there are vital questions about her history that need answering. It is a very well written, beautiful story which captures the horridness of mental illness and translates the effect it has on the sufferer and those around them exceptionally well.

 

I’ve crowed about it before, I know, but I’m here to talk about it again. Oh Comely is a must to buy, and I’ll show you some pictures to prove why. They displayed the varied subjects the magazine crosses, some of the wonderful illustrations and the fabulous photography.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been working on a poem about Temenos. I started about four hours ago, pulling all my scrappy notes together and finally I am starting to make progress and shape something in the way of a poem.

 

These past couple of weeks, I’ve had real ups and downs about my body. Not in the sense that I am reverting back to anorexic thoughts, but just general paranoia, like we all get. So to make myself feel better about myself, I decided to take some pictures, to convince myself I can be sexy. That being a ‘normal’ size and ‘curvy’ is good. Because sometimes the little naughty elves sneak inside our heads and try to convince us otherwise. I don’t want that happening anymore.

 

 

 

