Killing Film

I like my films. Okay, so I don’t own more than about fifteen DVD’s (most of them are Studio Ghibli) but I know a bad film when I can’t pick my jaw up from the floor and the ‘best’ part is when I see myself aged 12 as the weird kid with glasses.

Oh and how can I forget Anna Paquin in a Little Red Riding Hood costume?

That was somewhat nice. Trick r Treat (how ‘with the kids’ is that title?) written and directed by Michael Dougherty is an abomination. With a plot so thin you don’t need to hold it up to the light to see through it, this film has no continuity, shit dialogue, awful special effects and bloody awful acting. How the hell it managed to gain such a positive response when it came out I literally have no idea.

DO NOT BE DISTRACTED BY OKAYNESS OF THIS PICTURE. THE FILM IS SHIT.

This is the general description:

Four interwoven stories that occur on Halloween: An everyday high school principal has a secret life as a serial killer; a college virgin might have just met the one guy for her; a group of teenagers pull a mean prank; a woman who loathes the night has to contend with her holiday-obsessed husband.

My opinion? Just don’t bother. Unless you just fast forward it to the part where the hot college chicks strip and turn into werewolves. But the ‘boob’ shots only last for about thirty seconds, so it’s not really worth it.

Second film to reduce to rubble is Scott Pilgrim Vs The World.

Now, I am generally very, very open minded when it comes to films adapted from graphic novels. I loved 300 and Sin City and Persepolis but this one. Well, the story is generally about this musician played by the used-to-be-loveable Micheal Cera who, to get the girl of his dreams, Ramona Flowers *sigh* has to defeat her seven evil exes. Which icluded, suprise suprise, a lesbian lover. Right, let me get this stright, this doesn’t add ‘edge’ to the film, it doesn’t make the character look more ‘hardcore’ in any way, shape or form. Its just lame. To this is added a gay roommate (played scarily by Kieran Culkin who is oddly attractive but not as good as Macaulay or Rory) two obsessive ex-girlfriends, a (shit) band, some other obscure character and snow. Basically, it was…err, ‘something’ of an experience. The script was pretty weak but the unique special effects were pretty nifty, although I have to say my favourite part of the film was when Cera’s character wiped his hands on two towels in the bathroom. Says just about everything that does, doesn’t it? I found the main characters mind numbingly pretentious to the point when I felt slightly ill. Yes, they’re nice looking people, but hell, HELL it was infuriating with all the ‘ohh woe is me’ looks like this

and this

and this.

and boring with all the fighting the exes shit, made to look as though it’s some sort of video game. I’m not a gamer. I’m also not a reader of Scott Pilgrim so I was probably dumb to about 98.9% of the film.

