Bear with me

 

Okay, so it’s been two days since my last blog, and yes, I feel ashamed that I didn’t put Tom to one side for five minutes and write, but hey. Life happens. Well, quite a lot has gone down since my last entry; I went to the pictures to see 127 Hours, Danny Boyle’s new film. It’s a biographical adventure about a bloke (Aron Ralston) and his experience having a boulder trap his arm, for, er, five days after he acted like a bit of a goon and though he was Action Man. He’s in an isolated canyon in Canyonlands National Park, Utah, so there isn’t really a hope in hell of him being found. Anyway, the film is composed of flashbacks, premonitions, dreams and his life for five days, pissing in a water carrier and drinking it and hacking off his trapped arm with a blunt pen knife. The character did annoy me somewhat. He was selfish, inconsiderate and basically too big for his own boots, in my humble opinion. Okay, okay, so he did, eventually see the errors of his ways and he did have the balls to cut off his own arm, but yeah, I enjoyed it. I wouldn’t see it again though. Although, saying that, the man has written a book, and it does sounds rather interesting. Quoting from Amazon

 


It is not just a book about “the man that cut his arm off”, it’s a book about life, friends, family, the wilderness, adventure, climbing, snow sports, biology, disability, spirituality, and the media’s reaction to one man’s experience.

So I think I will check that out.

The Bear Family & Me. This BBC natural history programme is phenomenal. Easily, easily one of the best nature documentaries I have ever watched. Now, you might think I am exaggerating, but presenter Gordon Buchanan does an exceptional job throughout this three part mini series. Buchanan travels to Minnesota US of A to check in Dr Lynn Rodgers and with his research bears a new mother and her cub – black bears Lilly and Hope.

 

 

 

He learns how to gain their trust in order for him to be able to follow them and film their day to day activities as Lilly teaches her tiny cub Hope how to survive in the forest. Now, the documentary follows the bears from spring through to autumn when they are about to go into hibernation. Through the programme there are parts which warm the heart, like when Hope is feeding from Lilly, parts which bring the giggles bubbling up, when Hope is high up in a tree, just sitting there, looking like a teddy, and parts which make your blood run cold, like when Hope is abandoned and left to fend for herself in the forest, when she ought to still be suckling. It is a breathtaking, mesmerising and awe inspiring programme, beautifully shot. But more importantly, it gets the message across that black bears are not the monsters the majority of us believe them to be.

 

 

Ate chips yesterday. Now I’m not a massive chip eater. I’ll have them once in a blue moon and enjoy them…ish. Yesterday, when I’d finished my chip shop chips, I felt as if my body hated me suddenly. And I felt as if I wanted to wash out my insides with mountain spring water. I felt disgusting and greasy and wrong. Today I had a Mc Flurry. I know, I know, but it was Lion Bar and I’ve never had one before. But still, the ice cream left a cold feeling of guilt in my stomach.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a walk through the woods by myself, but it was a delight having Tom trudging through the mud and rotten leaves yesterday. The sunlight made it feel like autumn and some of the leaves still had that ‘impossible’ colour to them. Tom has this knack for spotting stuff straight away. There he was saying, ‘ah, you’ll get woodpeckers in this here forest,’ and what does he point out less than thirty seconds later – a bloody woodpecker!

 

The anorexia article was in the Times today. It makes me shiver when I re-read what I went through and how it affected my family. My book Anorexia: A Stranger in the Family was mentioned and so that’ll hopefully boost sales at least a little bit.

 

So I’ve sent of my CV to the volunteering place in Romania. I’ve also applied for a job as a Oxford Distance Learning Creative Writing Tutor and a job as a proofreader and writer for a Notonthehighstreet.com selling great stuff like this.

 

 

 

For the tutor job, ideally they want you to have an MA but I thought what with the excellent publishing experiences I’ve had, hopefully, that might swing it my way. Well, we’ll have to wait and see.

 

I don’t need more books, (ha! What am I saying? Of COURSE I need new books. Katie can NEVER have too many books) but I bought The Field Guide to Natural Wonders: The secret world of optical, atmospheric and celestial phenomena. It was reduced from £9.99 to £4.99 so I really couldn’t resist. Anyway, it will, without a shadow of a doubt, inspire many, many poems, etc, etc, etc.

 

I feeling genuinely optimistic at the moment. I had something of a mini-breakdown last night, but I think  that’s primarily because I haven’t had my citalopram for three days, or it might be because at the moment I am having to make so many major decisions, that I feel overwhelmed. I think I need to remember that life isn’t an emergency.

